Saturday, April 17, 2021

Four Candidates File For Place On May Ballot

Four candidates took advantage of the first day of filing to be on the May ballot for three seats on the Carroll School Board: Incumbents Craig Rothmeier, Bernie Ausdenmoore and Sue Armstrong all filed for re-election in Places 1, 2 and 3, respectively. Citizen Fred Stovall filed to challenge Ausdenmoore for the Place 2 seat.

The district opened from 8 a.m. to noon Saturday for candidates to file at the Administration Center, 3051 Dove Road in Grapevine. Candidates may file between February 12 and March 14, according to Robb Welch, Assistant Superintendent for Financial Services.

Office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Mondays through Fridays. The deadline to file for a place on the ballot is 5 p.m. on Monday, March 14. This is the first day of spring break for Carroll ISD, but school officials say they will open the Administration Center from 2 to 5 p.m. on that day to accommodate any candidates wishing to file before the deadline.

Candidates are elected to three-year terms in at-large positions, therefore each Trustee represents the entire district rather than geographical zones or areas. Seven individuals serve with staggered terms and election years.

Citizens wishing to participate in the election must register to vote by April 14. Early voting by personal appearance begins Monday, May 2 and will continue through Tuesday, May 10. Because Carroll ISD conducts its elections in conjunction with Tarrant County, a registered voter can cast an early ballot at any Tarrant County voting location. Election day voting will take place by precinct at assigned locations from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Saturday, May 14. Results will be posted to the CISD website later that evening.

CISD has an elections website where information, voting times and candidate information is posted. The Board of Trustees is expected to officially call the election at their February 21 meeting.

For more information, visit the Carroll ISD Website or call 817-949-8282