Saturday, April 17, 2021

Carroll Odyssey of the Mind Teams Advance

The North Texas Region of Odyssey of the Mind held their Regional tournament on Saturday, Mar. 5, 2011 at Carroll High School. Over 45 teams competed in this year’s tournament, 16 from Carroll. Nearly every Carroll campus was represented by a team or teams, and all eight teams that were eligible to, will be moving on to the State Tournament in Houston in April.

In the vehicular problem, the division 1 team is from Rockenbaugh Elementary, coached by Amy Eubanks, and the division 2 team is from Dawson Middle School, coached by Shauna Newman. In the technical problem, division 1, the Durham Intermediate team coached by Todd Parrish and the Johnson Elementary team coached by Jon Larimer will be joined by the division 2 team from Eubanks Intermediate, coached by Ann Dachniwsky and the division 3 team from Carroll High School, coached by Cynthia Featherston. The classic problem was won by the division 1 team coached by Margaret Weinberg, and the drama problem was awarded to the division 1 team from Durham Elementary, coached by Leah Swanson.

The following teams also deserve recognition, they areCarroll’s youngest teams from the Primary division:

Old Union Elementary coached by Colleen Neely

Old Union Elementary coached by Patrick Kiely

Rockenbaugh Elementary coached by Gillian Barth

Rockenbaugh Elementary coached by Emily Lydick

Carroll Elementary coached by Jeff Thompson

Carroll Elementary coached by Robert Pascal

Durham Elementary coached by Brooke Axline-Minotti

Johnson Elementary coached by Todd Parrish

Teams from CES, RES, and DES were given Omer awards for displaying great spirit and good sportsmanship.

To see all of the tournament results click here.

To learn more about Odyssey of the Mind click here.