Saturday, April 17, 2021

CISD Odyssey of the Mind Results

Seven Southlake Carroll Odyssey of the Mind teams competed at the 2011 Texas State Tournament in Houston, on April 16, 2011, each representing a different campus within CISD;  Rockenbaugh Elementary School, Durham Elementary School, Carroll Elementary School, Eubanks Intermediate School, Dawson Middle School, and Carroll High School.

All of these CISD teams performed at an extraordinarily high level for which we are all extremely proud, and four teams earned a place at the tournament:

Carroll Elementary (pictured right), a first year team coached by Margaret Weinberg, placed third in the Classics Problem, Division 1. Team members are: Jenna Eads, Sophia LeBlanc, Zach Marshall, Troy McNitt, Nolan Milosik, Jascha and Aleksei Weinberg

Eubanks Intermediate School’s team (pictured left), coached by Ann Dachniwsky, also placed third in the Technical  Problem, Division 2. Team members are: Daniel Weiss, Erin Weisert, Weston  Salanty, Nate Ruelas, Madeleine Newman, Michael Dachniwsky, and Brandon Burlison.

Dawson Middle School’s team (pictured right) members are the Texas State Champions in the Vehicular Problem, Division 2; they are Braden Anderson, Jaden Curreri, Ann Dahl, Spencer Lankford, Mackenzie Murphy, Allie Newman, and Jack Veenker. They also were recipients of the prestigious Renatra Fusca Award recognizing a team that demonstrates an outstanding level of creativity during competition.

The Southlake Carroll High School team (pictured right) members, coached by Cynthia Featherston, are also Texas State Champions of the Technical problem, Division 3.  The team members are: Natalie Scherer, Emilie Featherston, Katie Dachniwsky, Annie Newman, Spencer Rainbolt, Nico Scalzo, and Lindsey Weiss.

The Dawson Team and the High School team have the honor of competing at Odyssey of the Mind World Finals at the University of Maryland in May.