Tuesday, April 13, 2021

Historical Society, Teacher Receive Awards

The Southlake Historical Society is being presented with the National Historic Preservation Recognition Award on Thursday, April 14, 2011 at the Cowboys Golf Club. The Captain Molly Corbin Chapter of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution of Grapevine, Texas will be presenting the award.

The award is presented to an individual or group that has done remarkable work at the community level in the area of historic preservation in a volunteer manner. The approval of the award is administered by the National Vice Chairman of Historic Preservation Committee of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution in Washington D. C. The award honors the achievements in historic preservation, including preservation of buildings, landmarks, monuments, cemeteries, historic districts, manuscripts, publication of books on historic preservation, genealogical and court house records and photography collections, and compiling of oral histories. The Southlake Historical Society has accomplished many of things in these areas in just a short time of 19 years. Several life time members will be attending the function along with this years officers.

Mrs. Jan Holland (pictured left in costume) will be receiving the Outstanding Teacher of American History Award from the Captain Molly Corbin Chapter of Grapevine. These pictures were taken by CISD student intern Erica Cottingham during a Colonial Day event at Eubanks Intermediate School. The award is presented to notable, full-time teachers of American History. The DAR honors Outstanding Teachers of American History at the chapter, state and national level. Mrs. Holland placed second overall at the state level competing with 192 DAR chapters in the State of Texas. The SAR Sons of the American Revolution Dallas Chapter also submitted Mrs. Holland’s name for American History Teacher Award and she won both chapter recognition and 1st in State. She has taught students for over 21 years from Kindergarten to fifth grade. She has been teaching at Eubanks Intermediate since 2003.

Other awards that will be presented that evening by the Captain Molly Corbin Chapter are as follows: Community Service Award-Grapevine Mayor William D. Tate, Americanism Award-Mesfin Samuel, DAR Good Citizen Award will be presented to three area Seniors. Alexis Denis from Faith Christian School, Grapevine, TX, Gabriella Balli from Colleyville Heritage High School, and Kathryn Lyons of Keller High School are the recipients for the award this year and will receive scholarships from the Captain Molly Corbin Chapter. The Chapter will also honor Austin Holland from Fossil Ridge High School, Keller ISD winner of this years Christopher Columbus Essay contest and Sydney Adams from Fossil Hill Middle School, Keller ISD winner of the American History Award.

DAR was founded in 1890 and is headquartered in Washington D. C. It is a non-profit, non-political volunteer women’s service organization dedicated to promoting patriotism, preserving American history and securing America’s future through better education for children. Interested in finding out additional membership information please contact Past Chapter Regent Jane Doclar at janeandernie@verizon.net or additional information available at NSDAR web page at: www.dar.org.