Saturday, April 17, 2021

Celebrating Excellence: Campus Teachers of the Year

Carroll ISD proudly announces this year’s Campus Teachers of the Year. Each of Carroll’s eleven schools selected one teacher who best represents the district’s mission, vision and values throughout the school year. Teachers were chosen by their co-workers. To be eligible, the individual must hold a teachers’ certificate and have been a Carroll ISD employee for at least three years.

This year’s Campus Teachers of the Year are (from left to right): Rebecca Whittle, Rockenbaugh Elementary School; Paul Pinson, Carroll Senior High School; Kathy Prado, Carroll High School, Cassie Gilmore, Old Union Elementary School; Teri Weber, Carroll Middle School; Margo Rudder, Jack D. Johnson Elementary School; Karen Seaberg, Durham Intermediate School; Jenna Chitwood, Carroll Elementary School; Tracy Altman, Dawson Middle School; Sherri Meadows, Durham Elementary School; Janay Hunt, Eubanks Intermediate School. Campus Teachers of the Year complete a comprehensive award application to be considered by the CISD Awards Committee for two district honors. From the 11 applicants, the Awards Committee – which is comprised each year of employees, parents and School Board Trustees – will select one Carroll ISD K-6 Teacher of the Year and one Carroll ISD Secondary Teacher of the Year. These individuals will then go on to represent the district in the Region XI Teacher of the Year contest.

On May 26, Dragon employees and We Care sponsors will honor and recognize the 11 Campus Teachers of the Year at an end-of-year reception at Carroll High School. At that time, the district winners will be announced and receive a number of awards and recognition from sponsors and community organizations, like the Carroll Education Foundation and the Southlake Chamber of Commerce. District sponsor Park Place Motorcars also presents the two district winners with the use of a vehicle for the summer, along with a package of assorted prizes and gifts.  

Learn more about each of these individuals by visiting the campus websites. Visit then click “Schools”.

On Monday, May 23 all Campus Teachers of the Year attended a special CISD Night at the Ballpark courtesy of the Texas Rangers. Click here to read the story.