Tuesday, October 27, 2020

Carroll ISD Names Campus Teachers of the Year

Carroll ISD proudly announces this year’s Campus Teachers of the Year. Each of Carroll’s eleven schools selected one teacher who best represents the district’s mission, vision and values throughout the school year. Teachers were chosen by their co-workers. To be eligible, the individual must hold a teachers’ certificate and have been a Carroll ISD employee for at least three years.

This year’s Campus Teachers of the Year are pictured below. Front row, from left to right: Janet Blackwell, Carroll Elementary School; Lance Mangham, Durham Intermediate School; Nichole Gilley, Carroll Senior High School; Jaimee Hilliard, Carroll Middle School and Diane Boes, Walnut Grove Elementary School.

Second row, from left to right: Dave Taylor, Dawson Middle School; Katherine Bonnette, Eubanks Intermediate School; Brenda Clardy, Rockenbaugh Elementary School; Joanne Lugeanbeal, Old Union Elementary School; Amanda Gray, Johnson Elementary School and Danita Barton, Carroll High School.

Campus Teachers of the Year complete a comprehensive award application to be considered by the CISD Awards Committee for two district honors. From the 11 applicants, the Awards Committee – which is comprised each year of employees, parents and School Board Trustees – will select one Carroll ISD K-6 Teacher of the Year and one Carroll ISD Secondary Teacher of the Year. These individuals will then go on to represent the district in the Region XI Teacher of the Year contest.

On May 23, Dragon employees and We Care sponsors will honor and recognize the 11 Campus Teachers of the Year at an end-of-year reception at the new Carroll Middle School. At that time, the two district winners will be announced. Both winners will receive a number of awards and recognition from sponsors and community organizations, like the Carroll Education Foundation and the Southlake Chamber of Commerce. Carroll ISD sponsor Park Place Motorcars also presents the K-6 Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year with the use of a vehicle for the summer, along with a package of assorted prizes and gifts.

On Thursday, June 14 all Campus Teachers of the Year will be invited to attend a special recognition ceremony at the Ballpark in Arlington. The teachers will be on the field prior to the first pitch, as part of the annual CISD Night at the Ballpark courtesy of the Texas Rangers. Click here to download and print the special order form.