Friday, October 30, 2020

Cross Country Teams Race To Top Finishes

KINGSVILLE – The Carroll Dragon defending state champion cross country teams are picking up where they left off last season. Both the boys and girls each won the Javelina Invitational last week at Texas A&M Kingsville.

The Lady Dragons clinched top honors placing 11 runners in the top 12 spots totaling 16 points. Courtney Kriegshauser led the team with an impressive time of 17:56. Behind her were teammates Elena Arriaza (18:14), Tig Archer (18:15), Shelby Chapin (18:43) and Taylor Ullmann (19:08)

The Dragon won with 18 total points as they finished in 1st, 2nd, 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th and 9th positions. Connor Hendrickson led the Dragons, followed by Nate Sullivan (15:23), Alec Garner (15:50), Jacob Pickle (15:52) and Trevor Gilley (15:57).

“After several weeks of training without racing, it was great for the team to come out to this course and put on a good performance,” Carroll cross country coach Justin Leonard said. “The focus is on progression to the meets that really count.”

The Carroll cross country teams will train next weekend and before competing at the Nike South at Bear Branch Park in The Woodlands.

Texas A&M-Kingsville Javelina Invitational Varsity Girls Results Top 25

     1st -Courtney Kreigshauser -17:56

     2nd -Elena Arriaza -18:14

     3rd -Antigone Archer -18:15

     4th -Shelby Chapin -18:43

     6th -Taylor Ullmann -19:08

     7th -Katie Burnham -19:08

     8th -Lauren Berry -19:11

     9th -Maddie Keen -19:22

     10th -Sarah Cory -19:30

     11th -Annie Fillers -19:42

     12th -Sam Young -19:43

     14th -Laura Lashus -20:01

     16th -Vicki Bottorff -20:21

     18th -Katelin Brekken -20:37

     21st -Rianna Randolph -20:55

   24th -Amelia Ahner -21:02

Texas A&M-Kingsville Javelina Invitational Varsity Boys Results Top 25

     1st -Connor Hendrickson -15:17

     2nd -Nate Sullivan -15:23

     4th -Alec Garner -15:50

     5th -Jacob Pickle -15:52

     6th -Trevor Gilley -15:57

     7th -Chase Wichman -16:11

     9th -Eli Canal -16:31

     13th -Matt Carson -16:36

     14th -Luke Lanham -16:37

     15th -Joseph Zapinski -16:40

     17th -Eric Vetere -16:45

     22nd -Brent Aydon -16:59

     23rd -Regen Hatcher -17:08