Tuesday, October 27, 2020

Carroll ISD Earns Perfect Finance Rating

Carroll ISD scored a 70 out of possible 70 points and earned a Superior Achievement on the 2012 Financial Integrity Rating System of Texas (FIRST).

The Carroll School Board heard a presentation by Robb Welch, Assistant Superintendent for Financial Services, on the district’s most recent financial rating at the October 22 meeting.

The financial accountability rating is based on 2010-2011 data including indicators related to CISD’s fund balance, tax collections, debt ratios, administrative cost ratios, staffing ratios, investment earnings, cash flow and more.

The district has consistently earned the highest rating of Superior Achievement since the state of Texas implemented the financial accountability system.

In other business, Trustees postponed action on declaring district-owned property at 3051 Dove Road, Grapevine, TX 76051, as surplus. The Board is expected to put the property up for sale after the Administration Center moves to the newly renovated, old Carroll Middle School building. The work on the new Administration Center is slated for completion in December. Trustees will consider this agenda item at a later date.

The School Board asked for Administrative clarifications on a significant number of policy changes as part of a comprehensive 2012 Policy Audit that began last spring. Dr. Derek Citty, Assistant Superintendent for Administrative Services, will work with the Texas Association of School Boards Policy Division to answers questions posed by the Trustees.

The Board approved the Consent Agenda, including Sept. 24, 2012 Meeting Minutes, an Emergency Evacuation Agreement between Gateway Church and Carroll Middle School, a utility easement request related to CISD’s fiber optic network, and three donations: $7,673.27 by the Dawson Middle School PTO for items on the Departmental Wish List; $42,833.56 by the Carroll Athletic Booster Club for athletic programs, travel and training; and $87,735.72 from the Carroll Education Foundation to fund innovative teacher grants during the 2012-2013 school year.