Monday, September 28, 2020

Robotics Teams Qualify For Regional Championship

The Carroll Dragon Robotics team qualified for the Regional Championship tournament after successful finishes in the FTC Regional Qualifers last weekend in Mansfield.

Carroll had two of the 20 robots entered in the event. Robotics tournaments consist of competition rounds (round-robin style). The winning robotos from the competition rounds get to choose partners for the final rounds. Carroll’s robots finished first and second in the competition rounds and produced an all-Carroll final.

In addition to winning the top two spots, Carroll earned the Connect Award (team most connected with their local community and engineering community) and the Inspire Award (team that embodies the “challenge” of the FTC program).

The Inspire award is regarded as the highest honor and most coveted award in the competition.

Here are the member of the two Dragon teams…

Team 6578 “CyberDragons”
Deepak Chandra
Abbas Ally
Danielle Brown
Matthew Kendzior
Stephen Ma
Jeffrey Smythe
Reid Long
Noah Golly
Nikhil Ravi
Clara Merklin

Team 3947 “Fired Up!”
Zech Hein
George Farcasiu
Jon Brosnan
Vijay Ramesh
Jake Rowland
Matt Prost
Zachary Froehlich
Vinay Soni
Reed Emery