Wednesday, October 28, 2020

Cross Country Teams State Bound

Carroll Dragon logo Trademarked 4LUBBOCK – The Carroll girls’ and boys’ cross country teams advanced to the state championship after qualifying at the Class 6A Region I Meet in Lubbock on Friday.  For the 4th consecutive year, the boys team captured 1st place and a state meet bid, and for the 18th consecutive year, the Lady Dragons earned a spot in the championship state race. The 3-mile course at Mae Simmons Park in Lubbock is known for its steep hills, dust and tight turns but the Dragon runners overcame the challenges.

“We are so proud of our runners for qualifying again for the state meet,” said Carroll coach Justin Leonard said. “Our team depth prevailed again as our kids continue to step in and forge forward and keep this team thriving. Our girls team qualified for their 18th consecutive state meet and the boys won their fourth straight regional title.  We will now look to finish our goal next Saturday in Round Rock. We will have our hands full but our kids are excited for the challenge and will perform to the best of their ability.”

The Carroll cross country teams will compete Nov. 8 at Old Settlers Park in the Class 6A meet in Round Rock.

In a field of nearly 200 runners, Carroll boys had three in the top 20.  Reed Brown took 3rd place; Eli Canal came in 15th and Timou Toure 17th, Erik Karl (25th), Ansel Richards (29th), Michael Waugh (31st) and Luke Lanham (63rd). The Dragon boys team scored 77 points, El Paso Eastwood 87, Lewisville Marcus 118 and Keller Timber Creek 120 and will all advance to the Championship State Meet.

The Lady Dragon runners had two finish in the top 20, Sarah Odneal (16th) and Gillian Mortimer (20th).  Senior Rianna Randolph was close behind and came in 25th, Catherine Tracht took 36th, Ari Lopez 40th, Sarah McCabe 46th and Kayli Jones 48th.

Girls                                                                                        Boys
16th – Sarah Odneal (18:06)                                              3rd – Reed Brown (14:56)
20th – Gillian Mortimer (18:18)                                          15th – Eli Canal ( 15:18)
25th – Rianna Randolph ( 18:24)                                      17th – Timou Toure (15:24)
36th – Catherine Tracht (18:49)                                         25th – Eric Karl ( 15:33)
40th – Ari Lopez (18:51)                                                      29th – Ansel Richards ( 15:39)
46th – Sarah McCabe (19:03)                                            31st – Michael Waugh (15:40)
48th – Kayli Jones (19:05)                                                  63rd – Luke Lanham (16:07)