Friday, October 30, 2020

District, Middle Schools Earn Distinctions in Accountability Ratings

newswithmouseAUSTIN – The Texas Education Agency released the 2015 state accountability ratings for more than 8,600 campuses. The ratings reveal that 86.4 percent of campuses across Texas achieved the rating of Met Standard.

Campuses that receive an accountability rating of Met Standard are also eligible for distinction designations. Distinction designations are awarded to campuses based on achievement in performance indicators relative to a group of 40 campuses of similar type, size and student demographics. Distinction designations can be earned by campuses for:

  • Academic Achievement in Reading/English Language Arts;
  • Academic Achievement in Mathematics;
  • Academic Achievement in Science;
  • Academic Achievement in Social Studies;
  • Top 25 Percent: Student Progress;
  • Top 25 Percent: Closing Performance Gaps; and
  • Postsecondary Readiness.

Carroll and Dawson Middle Schools were both among 153 schools in the state to earn this distinction.

In 2015, 4,388 campuses achieved the Met Standard rating and earned some type of distinction designation. However, only 153 high schools, middle schools and junior high schools earned all seven distinction designations. Click here to ready the full story on the Texas Education Agency website.

Carroll ISD was also among 24 districts in the state to earn the Met Standard rating by the TEA.

Districts and charters (except for those comprised of only one campus) that achieve a Met Standard rating are also eligible to receive a distinction designation for postsecondary readiness. The distinction takes into account factors such as graduation rates, ACT/SAT participation and performance, Career and Technical Education (CTE) graduates and dual credit course completion rates. Postsecondary readiness is the only distinction at the district level.

Only 24 school districts and charters earned this distinction for 2015. Read more on the TEA’s website.