Monday, November 30, 2020

Emerald Belles Victorious at State Competition

The Carroll Senior High School Emerald Belles competed at Texas State University in the ShowMaker State competition February 26 and 27. The Belles placed 1st in high kick, 1st in jazz, and 1st in lyrical. They were awarded Overall Entertainment, Creative Costuming, Judge’s Award, and Outstanding Choreography, Showmanship, Technique, and Precision in all three dances. The Belles were also were named in Line of Champions of the contest and 2nd place overall in division.

The officers competed and were awarded 1st place in their jazz, lyrical, and contemporary routines. They received creative costuming for their lyrical, Judge’s award, Outstanding Choreography, Showmanship, Technique in all three dances and Outstanding Precision in contemporary. They also were named in Line of Champions of the contest and 2nd place overall in division.

Belle Solo Finalists

Several of the Belles competed in the solo category and the following Belles made it to the finals at the end of the night. In the 11th/12th solo division Jessica Bowman won 1st place, Laurel Kavanagh won 2nd place, and Sophia Parrish was awarded 5th place. In the 9th/10th division Kelly Alspaw won 2nd place and Tess Williams won 3rd place. Belles named as a semi-finalist were Claire McCoy, Claire Berutti, Sarah Scheffler, Catherine Brannon, Bella Cox, Ashley Greene, Erica Bradford, Erica Darrah, Bethany Sauls, Molly McKinnon and Kathryn Larkin.

In the large ensemble division the following Belles entered a high kick routine and won first place. The group included Haylee Spriggs, Elizabeth Meyer, Kristen Gentry, Emma Joy, Natalie Seitz, Morgan Kay, Riley Anderson, Taylor Thibodeau, Allison Kinnamore, Rachel Broadway, Madisyn Daniel, Ashleigh Christmann, Catherine Brannon, Meghan McCoy, Bethany Sauls, Ashley Greene, Kelly Alspaw and Molly Mckinnon. In the duet category Peyton Faltys and Claire Berutti won 1st place overall.

The Belles are under the direction of Melissa Page and assisted by Kathryn Dobrow.