Monday, August 2, 2021

Carroll Theatre Earns Betty Lynn Buckley Award Nominations

Carroll Theatre, Choir and Orchestra were recently nominated for 10 Betty Lynn Buckley Awards nominations for the fall musical Young Frankenstein. The winners will be announced at the ceremony on May 19 at Casa Mañana Theatre, where the cast will also be performing.

The nominations are:
Best Musical
Best Actor: Drew Brown and Tyler Jones
Best Supporting Actor: Ben Singel
Best Student Orchestra (Conducted by David Lown)
Best Student Choreography (Anna Chase Lanier & Gareth Forsberg)
Best Costume Design (Ciara Smith)
Best Lighting (Alex Rose)
Best Sounds (Nicole Butscher)
Best Scenic Design (Cliona Smith & Braden Anderson)

Named after Fort Worth’s own Tony® Award winning Best Actress, Fort Worth Independent School District and Casa Mañana alumnae Betty Lynn Buckley, this exciting program has stood to promote and celebrate excellence in high school musical theatre since 2000. Participation is open to Denton, Wise, Parker, Hood, Johnson and Tarrant County. The program culminates in a Tony® Awards-style ceremony at Casa Mañana Theatre.

A panel of distinguished judges – comprised of local theatre professionals and educators – votes for a winner in each of 13 award categories for musicals: Best Musical, Best Male and Female Actor, Best Male and Female Supporting Actor, Best Choreography, Best Scenic Design, Best Lighting Design, Best Costume Design, and Best Student Orchestra; and 3 award categories for plays: Best Play and Best Male and Female Actor. Design categories are divided into two levels dependent upon the budget size of the school’s production. Categories are only open for student designers and artists. Awards include a $1,000 scholarship, which are provided by generous donors who recognize the benefits of this program and the impact musical theatre has on the lives of students.