Wednesday, February 1, 2023

Former Dragon Coach Elected to Texas HS Football Hall of Fame


Ledbetter led the Dragons to state titles in 1988, 1992 and 1993.

Former Carroll Dragon football coach/athletic director Bob Ledbetter is adding another prestigious honor to his successful career.

Ledbetter will be inducted into the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 7 in Waco. Ledbetter, who served as Carroll football coach and athletic director from 1979 to 1996, is part of an eight-member class which also includes LaDainian Tomlinson and Vince Young.

Ledbetter took Dragon football from anonymity to state powerhouse and drastically changed the culture over his 17 years. During that time, the Dragons won three Class 3A state championships in 1988, 1992 and 1993 and owned a then state record 72-game regular season win streak.

The Dragons run of dominance in 3A was remarkable, as they went 113-5-1. His 1992 state championship team is often regarded as one of the top state champions in Texas history. Ledbetter left the sidelines in 1996 to become Carroll’s athletic director. He finished with a record of 208-39-1 over 17 seasons at Carroll, and his teams never ended with a losing record.

In 2010, he was inducted into the Texas High School Coaches Association Hall of Honor. A year later, Ledbetter was elected to the inaugural Carroll ISD Hall of Honor. Ledbetter’s alma mater Southeastern Oklahoma State inducted him into its athletic Hall of Fame in 2014.

The Texas High School Football Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held at 6 p.m. at Baylor’s Ferrell Center. Tickets are $45 for adults, $15 for students. To order tickets, click here or contact Tiffany Wilkins at or call 210-290-8570.


A senior citizen being helped out of the car