Wednesday, March 3, 2021

End-of-Year Celebration Showcases CISD Teachers, Staff


Leslie Elkins, CMS


Amy Evans, OUES

Carroll ISD held its annual End-of-Year Celebration at Carroll Senior High School on Wednesday, May 25.

The 11 campuses Teachers of the Year were honored and the two District Teachers of the Years were announced. This year’s K-6th Grade Teacher of the year is Old Union Elementary teacher Amy Evans. She has been in the district for five years and has 12 years of teaching experience.

Click here to view the photo gallery.

The district’ Secondary Teacher of the Year winner is Leslie Elkins of Carroll Middle School. She has five years of teaching experience, including the past four in Carroll ISD. As winners, both teachers receive the use of a Lexus during the summer thanks to Carroll ISD sponsor Park Place.

The district also honored support staff and special service award winners. This year’s Auxiliary Service Award winners were Evaristo Pineada, who has served for 15 years as a custodian in Carroll ISD and currently work at Walnut Grove Elementary.

Johnson Elementary custodian Melanie Rubell also won an Auxiliary Service Award and has been a dedicated Dragon since 1992. Rubell is retiring at the end of the school year.

CISD honored two Paraprofessional Service winners. Transportation Dispatcher Misa Ruiz earned one of the awards along with Barbara Yelton, who serves as assistant to Superintendent Dr. David Faltys.

Monica Gattshall, the district’s English as a Second Language Coordinator, earned the Distinguished Service award.

During the event, Carroll ISD also honored many employees who have completed different levels of tenure in the district.