Thursday, November 26, 2020

Lady Dragons Take First Place at Dragon XC Classic

xc_16The Carroll Cross Country teams hosted the 1st Annual Carroll Dragon XC Classic on Saturday amidst fall-like temperatures and a muddy course. The Lady Dragons dominated, taking first place for both varsity and JV and nine Dragon runners finished as National Elites.

Carroll Justin Leonard said, “The Carroll Cross Country Program would like to thank all of our parent volunteers, the City of Southlake and everyone involved with making our meet a success. There were over 1,500 runners that participated and we were able to provide a great running environment for all participants. Our cross country teams put together strong performances and we are excited for the post season. It’s time to step up and start running fast.”

The varsity girls took 1st place and were led by senior Gillian Mortimer who took 4th place with a time of 18:14. Next was Ali White who crossed the line in 9th place at 18:52, then Cate Tracht in 10th place at 18:57, Ari Lopez was next in 11th place at 19:01 and Sofia Santamaria was the final scorer in 12th place with a time of 19:02.

The varsity boys came in 3rd place and were led by senior Nicolas Fernandes in 10th place with a time of 16:17. Connor Rutledge was next in 19th place with a 16:24, Evan Dunkel crossed next in 34th place at 16:58, Enzo Mortimer was next in 39th place with a 17:03 and Drew Bliss completed the scoring positions, coming in 45th place at 17:06.

Varsity Boys
10th – Nicolas Fernandes 16:17 (pictured right)
19th – Connor Rutledge 16:24
36th – Evan Dunkel 16:58
42nd – Enzo Mortimer 17:03
48th – Drew Bliss 17:06
57th – David Archer 17:10.18
58th – Nate Lannen 17:10.44
67th – Jackson Felkins 17:15
73rd – Vishnu Nair 17:18
79th – Everett Kolto 17:23

Varsity Girls
4th – Gillian Mortimer 18:14
9th – Ali White 18:52 (pictured top)
10th – Cate Tracht 18:57
11th – Ari Lopez 19:01
12th – Sofia Santamaria 19:02
18th – Angie Riera 19:15
20th – Sarah McCabe 19:22
27th – Rima Toure 19:46
30th –Lauren Esparza 19:53
45th –Regan Reilley 20:11