Tuesday, September 27, 2022

Twenty One Carroll Dragons Named National Merit Finalists

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names this week of approximately 15,000 Finalists in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered this spring.

Carroll ISD is proud to have 21 National Merit Finalist. These students receive this honor due to their scores on their PSAT that they had to have taken during their first three years of high school. The top 50,000 scores in the nation receive recognition with roughly the top 16,000 being named semifinalist. In order to be named a finalist, the student must maintain a high standard of academic excellence, plan to attend a college or university full time upon graduation, as well as meet other criteria.

The Carroll ISD National Merit Finalist for 2018 include:

Hira Asim
Sriram Avirneni
Adrienne Brown
Malini Chandra
Whitney Chaney
Camilla Cox
Arman Dave
Kyle Fondon
Suyash Jain
Hannah Javens
Samuel Ma
Myron Mageswaran
Aman Patel
Taylor Reusche
Dylan Riordan
Amelia Rusli
Connor Rutledge
Logan Stelling
Alice Tsai
Madelynn Tung
Zan Weng