Saturday, May 15, 2021

Dragon Football Well Represented in Post-Season Awards

The Carroll Dragons’ season came to an end this past Saturday after falling to Duncanville at the Ford Center in Frisco in the Class 6A Division II state quarterfinals. The Dragons finished their first season under head coach Riley Dodge with a final record of 13-1 and also earned several top honors on this year’s 5-6A All-District list.

Senior running back T.J. McDaniels was selected as the unanimous Most Valuable Player in the district after compiling video game-esque numbers for the Dragons. McDaniels ran for 2062 yards and 33 touchdowns on the ground and caught 24 passes for 257 yards and two more touchdowns. McDaniels is also a finalist for the Landry Award that is awarded to DFW’s top football player.

Senior quarterback Will Bowers was named Offensive Player of the Year for District 5-6A after passing for over 2500 yards and 20 TDs. Bowers also added over 550 yards rushing with eight touchdowns.

Senior Linebacker Michael Parrish was named District Defensive Player of the Year. He led a defense that only allowed two teams to put up more than 30 points in a game. Parrish had 80 total tackles on the year with 11 of them being for a loss and led the team in sacks with seven.

The District 5-6A Utility Player of the Year is Senior defensive back and wide receiver R.J. Mickens. Mickens was a key player in all three phases of the game. Mickens contributed offensively with 43 receptions for 643 yards and three touchdowns and defensively with a team-leading two interceptions (tied with Brandon Howell) and 57 tackles.

Carroll Athletic Director Steve Keasler was very impressed with the Dragon’s performance this season.

“I feel extremely blessed to have witnessed the 2018-19 Dragon Football Season.  I am very proud of this particular group of student-athletes as they have overcome adversity and challenges to only persevere by truly caring for each other and protect the Tradition.”, Keasler said. “I would like to congratulate Coach Dodge and our coaching staff, eight months ago this football program did not have a head coach or a staff and to lead this group to 13-1 shows an enormous amount of time and leadership.”

The following are all of the Dragon selections:

1st Team Offense
TE- Blake Smith – Unanimous
WR – Glenn Mitchell
Center – Addison Penn – Unanimous
Guard – Cameron Hataway – Unanimous
Tackle – Henry Mossberg – Unanimous
Tackle – Andrej Karic
Kicker – Joe McFadden

1st Team Defense
Tackle – Alex Kingston – Unanimous
Tackle – Quentin Bunten
End – Colton Hunter
Inside Linebacker – Preston Forney – Unanimous
Outside Linebacker – Conner Patterson – Unanimous
Safety – Ben Furgal
Corner – Brandon Howel

2nd Team Offense
RB – Eli Furgal
WR – Carson White
WR – John Manero
Guard – Brandon Barrasso

2nd Team Defense
Inside Linebacker –Graham Faloona

Honorable Mention
WR – Eric Windham
WR – Julian Roe
Linebacker – Sam Matin
Linebacker – Cameron Shoupp
Defensive Tackle– Dillion Springer
Defensive Back – James Miscoll
Defensive Back – Griffin Gumm
Defensive Back – Spencer Simon
Defensive Back – Dylan Thomas
Kicker – Neal Koskay