Thursday, March 4, 2021

Carroll Theatre Earns 12 Nominations for DSM High School Musical Theatre Awards

Carroll Theatre has landed 12 nominations for the 8th Annual Dallas Summer Musicals High School Musical Theatre Awards. Patterned after Broadway’s Tony Awards®, the DSM HSMTA celebrate the power of the arts and its ability to significantly improve all areas of education. The DSM HSMTA recognize artistic and educational achievements of North Texas students and their high school programs. A total of 63 amazing performances from 60 participating high schools were evaluated by a three-judge panel of entertainment industry professionals and veteran educators.

Carroll was nominated in 12 of the 16 categories:

  • Best Musical
  • Best Orchestra
  • Best Lighting Design
  • Best Technical Execution
  • Best Ensemble/Chorus
  • Best Direction
  • Best Musical Direction
  • Best Leading Actor – Jack Cory
  • Best Leading Actress – Michelle D’Amico / Devan DeLugo
  • Best Supporting Actor – Matthew Vinson
  • Best Supporting Actress – Adrianna Heffron
  • Best Featured Performer – Maddie Nelson

Awards are presented in 16 categories and scholarships are awarded to outstanding graduating seniors who are nominated by their teachers and selected by the DSM scholarship committee. The Best Actor and Actress winners receive an all-expense paid trip to New York City where they represent DSM HSMTA in the National High School Musical Theatre Awards (The Jimmy Awards) at the Minskoff Theater on Broadway.

Winners will be announced at the DSM HSMTA awards ceremony on Thursday, May 9, at the Music Hall at Fair Park.