Sunday, November 28, 2021

CSHS Student Council Elected TASC State Secretary; Rakes in Other Recognitions

After campaigning for over seven hours and delivering a speech to over 5,000 Texas Student Council members, Carroll Senior High School has been elected as the Texas Association of Student Council Secretary for the 2019-2020 school year.

Junior Libby Lester will be the CSHS representative who will sit at the TASC leadership table, but she will be representing CSHS as a whole during this tenure. CSHS ran on the platform of “Love Is…”, a platform dedicated to the awareness of teen dating violence.

In order, to even make it on the ballot for the election, Lester and CSHS had to be nominated for the position. Two Texas schools nominated Carroll Senior High. They would end up running against Keller Timber Creek and George Bush High School. In the end, CSHS earned over a 51% majority in the vote, so there was no need for a runoff.

Carroll Senior High StuCo has been receiving quite a bit of recognition lately, in addition to the recent election win. Senior Jack Tucker recently received one of the Texas Associations of Secondary School Principals (TASSP) scholarships. This scholarship is awarded to five seniors who show leadership and academic success through their time in high school.

Charlotte Lanier received a TASSP Academic Scholarship as well for her hard work in the classroom.

For the second year in a row, the CSHS StuCo has been named a National Gold Council. This is a nationally recognized honor for councils that set a standard for what Student Councils should be doing.

Their homecoming video, “This is Us”, was named a Top 10 state finisher and the council as a whole was also a sweepstakes winner.