Sunday, November 28, 2021

School Board Filing for the May Election Begins January 15

Filing begins January 15 for three Places on the Carroll Independent School District Board of Trustees. Places 1, 2 and 3, held by Michelle Moore, Bradley Taylor, and Sheri Mills, respectively – are three-year terms.

The deadline to file for a place on the ballot is February 14. The election is held the first Saturday of the month in May, which is May 2.

Interested candidates may complete the online application and return it to the Carroll ISD Administration Center, 2400 North Carroll Avenue in Southlake, during regular business hours. CISD is open Mondays through Fridays from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The office will remain open until 5 p.m. on the last day of filing, Feb. 14.

NOTE:  Applications may not be turned in before January 15, the first day for filing.

School Board Candidate Application

To be eligible to run for a school board position, a candidate must meet the following qualifications:

  • Residence — 1 year in state and 6 months in school district prior to filing deadline (Texas Elec. Code, Section 141.001(a); Brown v. Patterson, 609 SW 2nd 287)
  • Age — 18 years
  • Must be a registered voter in territory elected from by the filing deadline (see HB 484 information/link below)House Bill 484 amends Election Code Section 141.001 to provide a new general rule (for most offices) that a candidate must be a registered voter of the territory elected from as of the filing deadline (unless outside law conflicts).FAQ on HB 484

The Carroll ISD School Board received an election update from Scott Wrehe, CISD Assistant Superintendent for Financial Services. The Board will officially call the election in February.

Michelle Moore was appointed in July 2015 to fill the vacancy left after the resignation of Trustee Craig Rothmeier.  Moore was elected in May 2016 to serve out the remaining one year for Place 1 and then was re-elected for a three year term in May 2017.

Bradley Taylor was elected in May 2014 for a three year term for Place 2 and re-elected in May 2017.

Sheri Mills was elected in May 2014 for a three year term for Place 3 and re-elected in May 2017.

Early voting by personal appearance will occur from Monday, April 20 through Tuesday April 28 at Southlake Town Hall. Specific hours and requirements will soon be posted to the CISD Board Election webpage.

Canvassing of the election must occur between May 5 and May 13, 2020.

Trustees elected to Places 1, 2 and 3 will be administered the oath of office at the May 11, 2020 School Board meeting.