Saturday, September 23, 2023

Postseason Awards Continue to Come in for the 2019 Dragon Football Team

Coach Riley Dodge and his Dragon Football team wrapped their season up in early December but the accolades continue to come in for this season’s team.

Last week, sophomore quarterback Quinn Ewers was named by MaxPrep, a website dedicated to high school sports, as the nation’s top sophomore football player. This honor is given to the country’s top sophomore football athlete. Ewers joins other players like Aledo’s Jonathan Grey and current Tennessee Titan Derrick Henry as recipients of this award that has been given out since 2009. Ewers was also named District 5-6A Most Valuable Player and Dallas Morning News’ Newcomer of the Year.

Overall, over thirty Dragons were named to All-District Teams. Senior Graham Faloona was named the district’s Defensive MVP and freshman Owen Allen received the All-District Newcomer of the Year honor.

The Dragons receiving All-District honors include:

First Team All-District
Addison Penn
Anrej Karin
Brandon Borasso
Preston Forney
Thomas Wrehe
Beck Parra
Wills Meyer
Brady Boyd
John Manero
RJ Mickens
Blake Smith
Dillon Springer
Dillon Thomas
Eric Miscoll
Joe McFadden

Second Team All-District
Brandon Howell
Robbie Rochester
Colin Stanyer
Grant Price
Mike Magar
Kasen Lovelace
Landon Samson
Bill Buss
Quinn Wilkinson

Honorable Mentions
Quentin Bunten
Malik Song
Joseph Sweat
Jonah Doddridge