Monday, December 4, 2023

Three Carroll ISD Campuses Earn “NoPlace4Hate” Designation

Carroll Middle School, Dawson Middle School, and Rockenbaugh Elementary have been recognized as “NoPlace4Hate” schools by the Anti-Defamation League. This is a recognition given to schools that takes the extra steps to ensure their campus is an inclusive environment for all students.

This was the first year these campuses to participate in the anti-defamation initiative NoPlace4Hate (NPFH).  Each campus designated a lead teacher for this initiative.  This leader would be responsible for planning and leading staff and students through several activities to help build a culture of acceptance.

To receive this designation, schools must first take the NPFH pledge which includes lines about supporting a non-bullying environment and being an ally to peers. The schools then create an NPFH committee made up of students, teachers, and parents. The committee organizes three schoolwide activities and hosts them throughout the year. Schools are encouraged to be creative and unique in their mission-driven activities.

At the end of the year, schools that completed all steps receive the honor of being an NPFH site and receive a banner for display. This year marks 20 years for the NPFH program nationally and ten years here in the north Texas region. 

Dr. Janet McDade, Assistant Superintendent for Student Services, is very proud of these campuses for stepping up and taking part in this important program.

“I am proud of these three campuses as they work to build safe and inclusive communities for all Dragons,” said Dr. McDade.

Carroll ISD is excited to see what these campuses and others around the district can do with the NoPlace4Hate program and the Anti-Defamation League.