Friday, September 24, 2021

Dragon All-Region Choir Results

The following choir students under the direction of Marla Ringel and Bradley Kerley made the 2013 All-Region Choir:  Sarah Carron, May Chinn, Lauren Fancher, Talia Flores, Sophia Formella, Colton Hess, Elizabeth Hick, Megan Pierson, Kate Pruitt and Tori Tew.  They were chosen out of roughly 550-600 singers from our region to represent the top 200 in the Region XXIV Choir.  They had the opportunity to participate in the Region Clinic and Concert under the direction of Dr. Joni Jensen from Texas Woman’s University, and Dr. Z. Randall Stroope, and accomplished composer and director at Oklahoma State University.

These auditions lead to the Texas All-State Choir which recognizes the very top singers in the state of Texas.  Students begin the process in September with roughly 15,000 beginning the audition process throughout Texas.  Students must make it through all four rounds of auditions to make the All-State Choir.  Sarah Carron, May Chinn, Sophia Formella, Colton Hess, Megan Pierson and Tori Tew continued the to the third audition against the other top students in surrounding regions at Pre-Area auditions in November.

Two students auditioning next month at Area are Sophomore Megan Pierson and Senior Colton Hess.

Dragon Band Announces All Region Competition Results

Carroll ISD Band Director Jay Bach announced the names of students who were selected for the Region 24 All-Region Honor Bands. The students competed at Colleyville Heritage High School the weekend of Dec. 1. Jared Neeley was selected for the All Region Symphony Orchestra and will perform again on Saturday, Dec. 8, at R.L. Turner High School in Carrollton. Neha Jain and Christopher Cunningham were selected to the Area Band. Next month, both students will audition in Abilene for a chair in the Texas All State Honor Bands in San Antonio in February.

All of the students listed above will clinic and perform January  24 and 25 in Frisco.

Neha Jain- Wind Ensemble- Area
Jared Neeley- Wind Ensemble- Symphony Orchestra- All State Jazz
Christopher Cunningham- Symphonic Band- Area
Austin Deters- Symphonic Band
Amy Grice-Symphonic Band
Ari Ireland- Symphonic Band
Mollie Danel- Symphonic Band
Hannah Bronson- Symphonic Band
Parker Smith- Concert Band
Kelsey Bronson- Concert Band
Chris Weisberg- Concert Band
Kaley VanValkenburg- Concert Band
Tanner Deters- Concert Band
Phillip Brown- Concert Band
Julia Snook- Concert Band
Wongyeong Seong- Concert Band
Leslie Yap- Concert Band
Thi Tran- Freshman Band
Candace Duffy- Freshman Band
Carleigh Grupe- Freshman Band
Julian Raines- Freshman Band
Pearce Brown- Freshman Band


Dragon Choir Announces All-Region Selections

The Carroll Independent School District  is proud to announce that 11 students from Carroll were named to the All-Region Choir.

Students chosen for the Treble Choir were Sarah Carron, Avery Chidiac, Giselle Drake, Kat Fernandes, Sara Schellenberger, Victoria Tew and Chandler Trader as alternate. Students named to the mixed choir were Kelsey Bronson, Sophia Formella, Danielle Rodriguez, Megan Pierson and Timothy Thompson.

These students have all been working since June on a wide variety of classical pieces including works by Brahms, Mozart and Porpora. They will continue to work with the Directors of music from Texas Tech University and Sam Houston State University over the next few weeks. They will be performing a concert on Saturday, November 3rd at 4:30p.m. at First United Methodist Church in Grapevine. The concert will be free and open to the public.

The entire CSHS Chorale will be performing a few days later in the same venue. That concert will be part Of the APEX concert series and will include choirs from several high schools and will feature the TCU Choir. Click here for more information.

The Carroll Choir is under the direction of Marla Ringel. For more information about the choir and upcoming performances, visit their website.