Friday, August 12, 2022

Southlake Chamber Recognizes City of Southlake and Councilmember Kathy Talley at 2022 Awards Banquet

The City of Southlake was honored with the Legacy Award from the Southlake Chamber of Commerce.

The chamber recently held its 2022 Awards Banquet at The Marq Southlake to highlight individuals and businesses for their accomplishments in the community, service, and business.

The City of Southlake was recognized for our engagement, support, and demonstrated history of good deeds as well as impacting the lives of those who live within the Southlake community.

“For the last 38 years, the city has displayed continuous support to the chamber and the business community, and we sincerely appreciate it,” President and CEO of the Southlake Chamber of Commerce Mark Guilbert said.

City Councilmember Kathy Talley was also among the award recipients recognized at this event. She was honored with one of the President’s Awards for her exemplary service to the Southlake Chamber of Commerce through the dedication of time, resources, and ideas that have served to enhance chamber success and opportunities.

“This is the night when we honor those in the Southlake community that have made positive changes in our Chamber and in the city and set an example for others to follow with their initiative, creativity, and energy,” said Guilbert.

Awards presented on June 17 included:

  • Citizen of the Year, Kush Rao
  • Legacy Award, City of Southlake
  • Chairman’s Award, Pastor Sterling Smith
  • President’s Award, Michael Young and Kathy Talley
  • Civic Group of the Year, GRACE
  • Director of the Year, Karl Chester
  • Corporate Business of the Year, Cambria Hotel & Suites Southlake DFW
  • Small Business of the Year, Selph Marketing
  • Volunteer of the Year, Lynda and Robert Warner
  • Ambassador of the Year, Bill Tait III
  • Youth of the Year, Zach Lacy

For more information about the Southlake Chamber of Commerce, please visit their website. To learn more about the Southlake business community, please visit Select Southlake.

Bob Ortegel to be Featured Speaker at Southlake Chamber Awards Banquet

Bob Ortegel, Fox Sports Network Commentator and former Dallas Mavericks broadcaster for 23 years has been announced as the featured speaker and emcee at the Southlake Chamber’s Awards Banquet scheduled for Thursday, June 20, at 6:30 pm, at the Marriott Solana Hotel.

“Bob has been an MVP in broadcasting for his entire career and was a very successful basketball coach at Drake University prior to entering broadcasting”, said Mark Jones, Chairman of First Financial Bank and 2013 Annual Banquet Chair. “We are very fortunate to have Bob host our MVP tailgate party and expect our event to be very entertaining”.

With the success of last year’s more casual event and the long history of successful teams of all kinds in the Southlake area it seemed only fitting that we should have a tailgate theme to celebrate the success of local businesses and the MVP’s (Chamber Members) responsible for that success. We are encouraging this year’s attendees to wear the colors, t shirts, polo’s, jerseys or whatever they would wear to a game to support their team at tailgate festivities.

Chamber Interim President Mark Guilbert said, “We are honored and excited to have Bob as our featured speaker.  This is an individual that has proven that hard work and dedication will lead to great success, a valuable and important lesson for businesses and leaders in our own region.”

Award Descriptions

The Awards Banquet is a time that the Southlake Chamber takes to recognize and honor outstanding local leaders and businesses for making a difference and inspiring others within the community and
Chamber.   The awards presented our listed below:

Citizen of the Year – the most coveted Chamber Award, celebrates outstanding effort, service and contribution to the community and recognizing excellence in leadership to make this City a better place for everyone.

Corporate Business of the Year – recognizes and celebrates the dedication and service of a business to the region and making it a better place for all to live or do business while exemplifying a commitment to excellence.

Civic Group of the Year – recognizes and celebrates an organization that has had a positive impact through their involvement in the community and as a result of actions taken by the organization to improve the lives of others.

Small Business of the Year – recognizes and celebrates service and commitment to the community while building on the City’s strong business and community environment and exemplifying a commitment to excellence.

Volunteer of the Year – celebrates outstanding volunteer service and contribution to the community and Chamber and recognizing excellence in leadership, dedication to improving the lives of others, and an ability to motivate others to follow their lead in service.

Sponsorships, tables and individual tickets are currently available by clicking on “Featured Event” at

Carroll Medical Academy Celebrates Seniors

The Carroll Medical Academy hosted its annual Awards Banquet this year. The event was held on Saturday, May 5 at the Hilton DFW Lakes in Grapevine.

Organizers say this year’s banquet was a complete success with record attendance. 10 scholarships were awarded to CMA Senior students. Each $500 scholarship will go to the recipient’s college education.

CMA members graduating this year are: Brian C. Bourcy, Virginia C. Burns, Erin M. Dominici, Catie E. Hendrickson, Armaan S. Kang, Lauren E. Wheeler, Quinn J. Brankin, Cameron t. Cutler, Celeste M. Genco, Maggie R. Goodman, Travis K. Martin, Priyanka s. Mehta, Stephanie H. Park, Dakota J. Pekerti, Roy A. Peryea, Amit R. Pullarkat, Anjali R. Pullarkat, Robert M. Resma, Hayley B. Ryskoski, Sneha Kalluri, Jonathan G. Lash, Michael R. Leung, Patrick Liu, Austin B. Miller, Jeffery J. Miller, Allison C. Naval, Justin A. Nevarez, James H. Noetzel, Christian M. Shannon, Jessica C. Shimabukuro, Sanya Sidhu, Hannah R. Walcek, Greeshma Rajeev-Kumar, Aaron D. Sahihi, Julia H. Sunderland and Kevin J. Xu.

The CMA Boosters extended a special thanks to program supporters including title sponsor, Children’s Medical Center as well as scholarship donors and community volunteers.

The slideshow below features pictures from the banquet including snapshots of scholarship winners and the sponsors who contributed to the Scholarship Funds.