Monday, March 20, 2023

Carroll Debate Takes Grand Sweepstakes at UNT Tournament

Debate_at_UNT_awardsThe Carroll Debate team brought home top scores following a recent debate tournament at the University of North Texas. The team won first place in individual event sweepstakes and second place in debate sweepstackes. Carroll also won the Grand Sweepstakes prize by more than doubling the points of Coppell High School, their nearest competitor.

The Carroll debaters continued their winning ways in Congressional Debate by securing eleven of twelve finalist spots and winning seven of the top eight spots, including a sweep of the top three places. In public forum debate, Carroll “closed out” the final round, finishing first and second. Carroll took the top five spots in International Extemp, two of the top six spots in Domestic Extemp, four of the top six spots in Novice Extemp, and three of the top six spots in Impromptu Speaking.

At UNT, 45 students competed for Carroll Debate. Three students will represent the school at the UIL District Congressional Debate tournament on Tuesday November 11, and 49 students gear up to compete at next weekend’s tournament at The Hockaday School in Dallas.

Individual awards were as follows:

Congressional Debate:

  • 1st Place – Zain Aziz
  • 2nd Place – Hampton Sella
  • 3rd Place – Fatima Zuberi
  • 5th Place – Sunny Daggubati
  • 6th Place – Emma Lin
  • 7th Place – Aneeqah Naeem
  • 8th Place – Dru Patel
  • Non-placing finalists – Priyanka Reddy, Joseph DePumpo, Sowmiya Baskar


Public Forum Debate:

  • 1st Place – Azhar Hussain & Sam Bonham
  • 2nd Place – Alex Federick & Adhi Subramanian

Novice Cross Examination Debate:

  • 5th Place – Jonathan Chiang & Rishik Puppala

International Extemporaneous Speaking:

  • 1st Place – Azhar Hussain
  • 2nd Place – Emma Lin
  • 3rd Place – Fatima Zuberi
  • 4th Place – Austin Meek
  • 5th Place – Joseph DePumpo

US Extemporaneous Speaking:

  • 3rd Place – Marshall Richardson
  • 6th Place – Sunny Daggubati

Novice Extemporaneous Speaking:

  • 1st Place – Aman Patel
  • 3rd Place – Karan Kanatala
  • 5th Place – Suyash Jain
  • 6th Place – Hafsa Zuberi

Impromptu Speaking:

  • 1st Place – Mafaaz Tanzeem
  • 4th Place – Zain Aziz
  • 7th Place – Dru Patel