Saturday, December 2, 2023

Dragon Debate Team Earning Top Performances

2Debate2016The Carroll Dragon Debate team recently competed in the UIL State Congressional Debate Tournament at the University of Texas in Austin.

Junior Emma Lin and Dru Patel were both finalists finishing 10th and 12th overall, respectively among all Class 6A state competitors.

Also, freshman girls Reagan Larimer and Alanna Miller became the 19th and 20th students to qualify for this year’s Texas Forensic Association State tournament in March at Hendrickson High School in Austin.

Other noteworthy efforts this season include:

  • Carroll has four teams in in Public Forum Debate, including nationally-ranked teams of all juniors Sam Bonham and Austin Meek, Jackie Prokopeas and Alex Federick and another junior team of Adhi Subramanian and Arjun Menon.
  • Carroll also boasts the state’s most Congressional Debate qualifiers, including Emma Lin, Sunny Daggubati, Mafaaz Tanzeem, Dru Patel, Chris Dao, Priyanka Reddy, Sowmiya Baskar, Hafsa Zuberi and Sahaj Singh.
  • Emma Lin, Mafaaz Tanzeem, Sahaj Singh, Sunny Daggubati have all qualified to the most prestigious national tournament in Congressional Debate, the University of Kentucky Tournament of Champions held later this Spring.
  • Dru Patel has qualified to both the UK TOC in Speech and the more prestigious Northwestern University’s Extemporaneous Speaking Tournament of Champions; meanwhile Mafaaz Tanzeem, Sahaj Singh and Sunny Daggubati have all qualified to the UK TOC in Speech also.