Sunday, September 19, 2021

'No Refusal' Campaign Set for July 4th Holiday

The Southlake Police Department will again be participating in the state’s July 4th Holiday – ‘No Refusal’ traffic enforcement campaign. The goal is to help keep travelers safe and take dangerous drivers off the road.

Beginning June 26th through Tuesday morning, July 7th, SLPD will begin increasing patrols.  Police officers will focus DWI patrols in high-risk locations at times when alcohol-related crashes are most frequent. Individuals arrested for DWI, who refuses to take a breath or blood test, face having their blood drawn once officers seek a search warrant from a judge.

According to TxDOT, in 2014 more than 1,000 people in Texas were killed in motor vehicle crashes involving a driver who was under the influence of alcohol, accounting for 29 percent of the year’s total traffic fatalities.

In Texas, a person is legally intoxicated and may be arrested and charged with DWI with a 0.08 BAC (blood or breath alcohol concentration). However, a person is also intoxicated if impaired due to alcohol or other drugs regardless of BAC. Whether you’re the driver or the passenger, you can be fined up to $500 for having an open alcohol container in a vehicle.

The penalties increase if you are arrested for DWI with a child passenger, cause bodily injury or death to another person.  Besides an arrest for driving while intoxicated, you can also face charges for child endangerment, intoxication assault, or intoxication manslaughter.

The consequences of drinking and driving are severe. The loss of life is tragic for everyone involved. In addition to jail time, drivers who are arrested for driving while intoxicated can face fines, fees, and associated costs of up to $17,000.

The Southlake Police Department is urging everyone to be safe during the July 4th Holiday; and If you plan to drink, please plan ahead by arranging to have a designated driver bring you home or arrange for a taxi to pick you up.

Don’t risk getting a DWI conviction.

Play it safe by remembering a few simple tips.

 Don’t drink and drive.

  • Plan ahead and designate a driver.
  • Contact SoberRides.org
  • Call a cab, or a sober friend.
  • Spend the night where you are, if possible.

Southlake Police Officers want you to arrive home safely. For more information http://www.txdot.gov/safety/tips/intoxication.htm

"No Refusal" Kicks Off During Super Bowl Weekend

norefusalwebbanner_12-9_v2The Southlake Police Department will again be participating with Tarrant County’s “No Refusal” campaign for Super Bowl weekend.  The initiative will begin Friday, January 30th at 9:30 p.m. and run through Monday, February 2nd at 5:30 a.m. Individuals arrested for DWI, who refuses to take a breath or blood test, face having their blood drawn once officers seek a search warrant from a judge.

This marks the third time that a “No Refusal” program has been executed on Super Bowl Sunday and the first time it has been extended to cover the entire weekend.

In Texas, a person is legally intoxicated and may be arrested and charged with DWI with a 0.08 BAC (blood or breath alcohol concentration). However, a person is also intoxicated if impaired due to alcohol or other drugs regardless of BAC. Whether you’re the driver or the passenger, you can be fined up to $500 for having an open alcohol container in a vehicle.

The penalties increase if you are arrested for DWI with a child passenger, cause bodily injury or death to another person.  Besides an arrest for driving while intoxicated, you can also face charges for child endangerment, intoxication assault, or intoxication manslaughter.

The consequences of drinking and driving are severe. The loss of life is tragic for everyone involved. In addition to jail time, drivers who are arrested for driving while intoxicated can face fines, fees, and associated costs of up to $17,000.

The Southlake Police Department is urging everyone to be safe during Super Bowl weekend and If you plan to drink, please plan ahead by arranging to have a designated driver bring you home or arrange for a taxi to pick you up.

Don’t risk getting a DWI conviction.

Play it safe by remembering a few simple tips.

 Don’t drink and drive.

  • Plan ahead and designate a driver.
  • Contact SoberRides.org
  • Call a cab, or a sober friend.
  • Spend the night where you are, if possible.

Southlake Police Officers want you to arrive home safely. For more information http://www.txdot.gov/safety/tips/intoxication.htm

Southlake Police Prepare for "No Refusal" Initiative on Halloween Night

Please Don’t Drink and Drive!

This Halloween weekend, the Southlake Police Department will take part in the Tarrant County “NO REFUSAL WEEKEND” from Friday October 31st. until Monday November 2nd.   This means if you are arrested for DWI and refuse to give a breath sample or allow your blood to be drawn, the officer will apply for a search warrant to have a specimen of blood taken from you.

The consequences of drinking and driving are severe. Did you know—that someone is hurt or killed in a crash involving alcohol almost every 20 minutes? The Southlake Police Department is urging everyone to be safe this Halloween Weekend.  If you plan to drink, please plan ahead by arranging to have a designated driver bring you home.  Individuals arrested for DWI face serious consequences including jail time and fines but more importantly, they risk taking a life or causing serious harm to themselves and others.

In Texas, a person is legally intoxicated and may be arrested and charged with DWI with a 0.08 BAC (blood or breath alcohol concentration). However, a person is also intoxicated if impaired due to alcohol or other drugs regardless of BAC. Whether you’re the driver or the passenger, you can be fined up to $500 for having an open alcohol container in a vehicle.

The penalties increase if you are arrested for DWI with a child passenger, cause bodily injury or death to another person.  Besides an arrest for driving while intoxicated, you can also face charges for child endangerment, intoxication assault, or intoxication manslaughter. These offenses, in conjunction with DWI, are punishable by significant fines, and lengthy prison sentences.

The fines and punishments increase dramatically following a first offense. Don’t risk getting a DWI conviction.  Play it safe by remembering a few simple tips.

  • Don’t drink and drive.
  • Plan ahead and designate a driver.
  • Call a cab, or a sober friend.
  • Spend the night where you are, if possible.

Southlake Police Chief Stephen Mylett says, “The message is simple. Don’t drink and drive, period! Don’t let one bad decision change your life forever. The consequences can last a lifetime.”

Southlake Police Officers will continue to work to keep the City streets and highways safe this Halloween weekend.  For more information http://www.txdot.gov/safety/tips/intoxication.htm

 

 

Don’t Drink and Drive!–No Refusal Weekend

drink_drive_go-to-jailThis Memorial Day weekend, the Southlake Police Department will take part in the Tarrant County “No Refusal Weekend” from Friday May 23 to Monday May 26. This means if you are arrested for DWI and refuse to give a specimen of your breath or blood the officer will apply for a Search Warrant to have a specimen of blood taken from you.

Did you know—that someone is hurt or killed in a crash involving alcohol almost every 20 minutes? The Southlake Departments of Public Safety are urging everyone to be safe this Memorial Day Weekend.  Please do not drive or operate a boat if you have had too much alcohol. Individuals arrested for DWI face serious consequences including jail time and fines but more importantly, they risk taking a life or causing serious harm to themselves and others.

In Texas, a person is legally intoxicated and may be arrested and charged with DWI with a .08 BAC (blood or breath alcohol concentration). However, a person is also intoxicated if impaired due to alcohol or other drugs regardless of BAC. Additionally, whether you’re the driver or the passenger, you can be fined up to $500 for having an open alcohol container in a vehicle.

The penalties increase if you are arrested for DWI with a child passenger or cause bodily injury or death to another, and face charges for child endangerment, Intoxication Assault, or Intoxication Manslaughter. These offenses in conjunction with DWI are punishable by significant fines, and lengthy prison sentences.

The fines and punishments increase dramatically following a first offense. Don’t risk getting a DWI conviction.  Play it safe by remembering a few simple tips.

  • Don’t drink and drive.
  • Plan ahead and designate a driver.
  • Call a cab, or a sober friend.
  • Spend the night where you are, if possible.

Southlake Police Chief Stephen Mylett says, “The message is simple. Don’t drink and drive, period! Don’t let one bad decision change your life forever. The consequences can last a lifetime.”

Southlake Police Officers will continue to work to keep the City streets and highways safe this Memorial Day weekend.  For more information http://www.txdot.gov/safety/tips/intoxication.htm