Monday, December 4, 2023

No Contested Races in Carroll School Board May 2014 Election

The Carroll Independent School District General Trustee Election is scheduled for May 10, 2014. On the first day of filing, three candidates submitted applications. They are: Craig Rothmeier (Incumbent), Place 1; Bradley Taylor, Place 2 and Sheri Mills, Place 3.  Election filing began Wednesday, January 29 and ended on Friday, Feb. 28 at 5 p.m. No additional filings were submitted by the deadline. The Carroll ISD School Board will soon consider an agenda item to cancel the election due to these candidates running unopposed.

The School Board consists of seven Trustees elected at-large to serve three year terms. Members are elected by position with terms staggering a three year cycle. Places 1, 2, and 3 are scheduled for election this year. Click here for CISD’s Trustee candidate eligibility policy. Additional candidate information can be found on the Election Filings page on the district website, or by clicking here.

All candidates are required to file an application for a place on the ballot by the filing deadline. Candidates shall submit their election filings to the Carroll ISD Financial Services Department, located in the CISD Administration Center at 2400 N. Carroll Ave, Southlake, Texas 76092. For more information, please contact the Carroll ISD Financial Services Department at 817-949-8272, or

Candidates are also required to file campaign finance reports per Election Code. Click here to view Carroll ISD Board Policy.

Carroll ISD participates in join elections with other entities and contracts with the Tarrant County Elections office to administer elections. Registered voters may vote early by personal appearance at any of the Tarrant County early voting locations, but may only vote at the assigned polling location for their precinct on the actual election day. Voters may verify their registration and polling locations at the Tarrant County Elections Office website.

Important Dates

  • First Day to File for a place on the Ballot – Wednesday, January 29, 2014
  • Last Day to File for a place on the Ballot – Friday, February 28, 2014 at 5 p.m.
  • Last Day to Register to Vote in the May 10, 2014 General Election – Thursday, April 10, 2014
  • Early Voting by Personal Appearance – Monday, April 28, 2014 to Tuesday, May 6, 2014
  • Election Day – Saturday, May 10, 2014

Candidate Information 

Four Candidates File for CISD Board as Filing Closes

Filing for the Carroll ISD School Board closed Friday, March 1 at 5 p.m. Four candidates filed for a place on the School Board Election ballot for one of two, three-year, at-large positions on the Carroll Independent School District Board of Trustees.

Bob Kemins filed January 31 for a spot on the ballot in Place 7 however, Kemins withdrew on Friday, March 1. Sam Torolopoulos filed February 1 for a spot on the ballot in Place 6. Matt Kormann filed Feb. 6 for a spot on the ballot in Place 6. Chris Archer filed Feb. 25 for a spot on the ballot in Place 7. James Palazzo filed March 1 for a spot on the ballot in Place 7. Voters will decide the two seats on Saturday, May 11; they are currently held by incumbents John Thane (Place 6) and Sherri Williams (Place 7).

Application packets and filing was available during regular business hours 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.  Mondays through Fridays at the Carroll Administration Center’s new location, 2400 N. Carroll Avenue in Southlake (former Carroll Middle School building just west of the North Carroll/Dove roundabout). The filing deadline was 5 p.m. on March 1. Candidates for each place will then hold a lottery drawing for the order of their names on the ballot.

Click here to read the Carroll ISD policy for Board Member Eligibility and Qualifications.