Sunday, April 21, 2024

Carroll Jazz Named Essentially Ellington Finalist

Carroll ISD is proud to announce the Carroll ISD Jazz Orchestra was named a 2014 Essentially Ellington finalist. Essentially Ellington is the largest and most prominent national High School jazz contest and is often referred to as the “Super Bowl” of jazz competitions. Carroll was selected in a blind audition process to join 14 other bands from across the country at the finals in New York City, May 8-11.

This is not the first time Carroll Jazz has been named an Essentially Ellington finalist. The program has been selected before, a testament to the talent and dedication of Carroll students and staff.

“I am so excited,” said Carroll ISD Superintendent, Dr. David Faltys. “This is an incredible honor. I am so proud of our students and instructors for once again, qualifying for this incredible competition. This competition is an awesome opportunity for our kids to compete on a national scale against some of the finest musicians in the country.”

“Returning to the Essentially Ellington finals has been a goal of the students in the Carroll Jazz program since we were last there in 2010,” said David Lown, Carroll ISD Director of Jazz Bands.

Carroll Jazz students are excited for the opportunity and grateful for all the support they’ve received.

“They are in this position because of the dedication shown to them by their parents, a school district that values the importance of Fine Arts, and tremendous help from private lesson teachers, clinicians, band directors and their peers,” said Lown.

New rule changes make the competition more difficult which, Lown said made the announcement that Carroll Jazz was a finalist all the more special. Carroll was the only school from Texas to be selected as a finalist this year.

Hosted at New York City’s Jazz at Lincoln Center, Essentially Ellington finalists participate in the three-day festival that includes performances, clinics and mentorship from prominent musicians focusing on the music of Duke Ellington. Click here to read the official announcement.

This year’s Carroll ISD Jazz Orchestra members are:


  • ‪Tanner Deters‬
  • ‪Tien Tran‬
  • ‪Colton Ginn‬
  • ‪Daniel Canterino‬
  • ‪Ryan Adler‬


  • ‪Adam Horne‬
  • ‪Mylon Johnson‬
  • ‪Chris Weisberg‬
  • ‪Colter Johnson‬


  • Chris Cunningham
  • Pearce Brown
  • Nathan Fritz
  • Andrew Jensen

Rhythm Section

  • Andrew Hyatt
  • Kenny Martin
  • Ray Teer
  • Parker Smith
  • Stephen Ma
  • Ryan Fields