Monday, October 18, 2021

Carroll Claims First 5A Lone Star Cup

The 2011-2012 school year marked historic results for the Carroll Dragons in University Interscholastic League competitions. The widespread success throughout Carroll’s athletic and academic programs has lifted the school to elite state-wide status. Carroll earned the UIL’s Class 5A Lone Star Cup championship as the results became official July 1. Carroll scored 100 points, 7.5 points ahead of second-place The Woodlands.

It marked Carroll’s first Class 5A Lone State Cup title. The Dragons are familiar with the award, winning in back-to-back school years in Class 4A (2000-2001 and 2001-2002). The Dragons moved to Class 5A in the 2002-2003 school year. The title was highlighted by Carroll producing five state championships in team sports — football, boys and girls cross country and boys and girls swimming — and multiple district championships. The five team state championships mark the most by a 5A school in state history.

The Lone Star Cup is awarded annually to five high schools, one in each of the five UIL classifications (1A, 2A, 3A, 4A and 5A), based on their team performance in district and state championships. The winning schools in each classification will receive the UIL Lone Star Cup trophy and a $1,000 scholarship, also presented by the UIL. The award started in the 1997-1998 school year.

1. Carroll 100 pts.
2. The Woodlands 92.5 pts.
3. San Antonio Reagan 76 pts.
4. Austin Westlake 74 pts.
5. Lewisville Marcus 66 pts.
6. Katy Seven Lakes 64 pts.
7. Mission Sharyland 62 pts.
8. Deer Park 60 pts.
  Northside O’Connor 60 pts.
10. Arlington Martin 58 pts.
  Laredo Alexander 58 pts.
  San Antonio Churchill 58 pts.