Saturday, February 24, 2024

Carroll Earns 14 National Merit Semifinalists

Carroll ISD has produced another talented group of students honored as National Merit Semifinalists.

National Merit Scholarship Corporation officials announced the names Wednesday of approximately 16,000 students in the 59th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. This year’s Semifinalists include 14 Carroll Dragons – Amy Adams,  Drew Anderson,  Philip Brown,  Katherine Burnham,  Adam Floyd, Nyle Hussain, Farzan Jafri, Reid Long, Kenneth Martin, Ian Myers, Vijay Ramesh, Raymond Teer,  Brittany Tew and Ashesh Trivedi.

This year’s selection index increased to 219 making the competition for the honor more difficult. These talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 8,000 National Merit Scholarships worth about $35 million that will be offered next spring.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competiton.

The National Hispanic Scholarship Program also offers scholarships to deserving students. This year, 14 Carroll ISD students were named National Hispanic Scholars. Click here to read more.