Saturday, March 2, 2024

Carroll Thespians Earn Cast Awards at UIL Competition

Carroll Theatre Department’s UIL One Act Play, 33 Variations, advanced from the Zone 2 Competition on Thursday, March 20 to the District Championships on Saturday, March 29.  Both competitions, Zone and District, were hosted by Carroll Senior High School.

At the Zone 2 Competition, Carroll Theatre Department took home the following awards:

  • Advancing Play
  • Honorable Mention All-Star Cast = Drew Brown and Kristine Lahde
  • All-Star Cast = Joey Donoian and Colette Culbertson

At the District Championships, Carroll Theatre Department took home the following honors:

  • Alternate Play to Area
  • Outstanding Technician = David Walsh
  • Honorable Mention All-Star Cast = Drew Brown and Joey Donoian
  • All-Star Cast = Kristine Lahde, Colette Culbertson, Scott Griffin, and the Ensemble, who consisted of Emily Cutler, Gareth Forsberg, Christie Griffin, Georgia Herr, Helen Hetrick,  and Alyssa Pugliese.

Congratulations, also, to Cody Shuck and Heather Wang, who rounded out the very talented cast, and Madeleine Louviere, Hallie Nell, Richard Rodenberg, Alex Spaeth, and David Walsh, who comprised our hard-working Tech Crew.

Carroll Theatre Directors Roald and Stacie Martinsen extended their congratulations to students and parents who participated in the UIL One Act Play process saying, “They represented their schools and the district beautifully.”

Carroll Theatre Students Bring Home Various Awards

The Carroll Theatre Department is proud to announce recent the outstanding accomplishments its students.

The Carroll Theatre Poetry Slam Team took third place at the “Louder Than A Bomb Poetry Competition” in Chicago over Spring Break.

Poetry Slam Team members are:

  • Meghan Dillard
  • Aneesha Puppala
  • Julia Reape
  • Steven Riedel
  • Micah Sales
  • Sarah Warren

The Carroll Theatre Department One Act Play Cast and Crew has advanced to the District Competition.

OAP Cast and Crew Members are:

  • Drew Brown (Honorable Mention All-Star Cast)
  • Colette Culbertson (All-Star Cast)
  • Emily Cutler
  • Joey Donoian (All-Star Cast)
  • Gareth Forsberg
  • Christie Griffin
  • Scott Griffin
  • Georgia Herr
  • Helen Hetrick
  • Kristine Lahde (Honorable Mention All-Star Cast)
  • Madeleine Louvier
  • Hallie Nell
  • Alyssa Pugliese
  • Richard Rodenberg
  • Cody Shuck
  • Alex Spaeth
  • David Walsh
  • Heather Wang

The District Competition will be held in the Carroll Senior High School Auditorium on Saturday, March 29 at 3:30 p.m.  The performance is free.

The following students also worked the competition and were an immense addition to the success of all the eight schools who competed:

  • McKenzie Bridgman, Student Host
  • Mark Elliott, Site Tech Crew
  • Maddie Newman, Usher
  • Brandon Norall, Site Tech Crew
  • Bridget Touhey, Student Host
  • Carson Skinner, Site Tech Crew
  • Ben Singel, Usher
  • Colton Walker, Student Host

CMS Theatre Wins Awards at OAP Competition

CMS_OAP2014 (2)Carroll Middle School Theatre recently competed in the Northwest One-Act competition.  Their production of “West” brought home a superior rating and tech crew won Best Tech.

Individual awards went to: Jayden Goldberg, Katie Cross, Shawn Carter, Rachel Connell, Mitchell Groff, and Matthew Schultz.CMS_OAP2014 (1)

Corbin Bowman (pictured, right) was named Best Actor for  the entire festival.







CISD Middle School Students Earn OAP Awards

Both Carroll Middle and Dawson Middle Schools p
articipated in the Northwest ISD Middle School One Act Play Festival at Northwest High School on Tuesday, Feb. 19 and students from both campuses received a Superior (first place) ranking for their productions.

Members of the Carroll Middle School Cast

CMS students performed “Dearly Departed” and DMS students performed “The Miracle Worker”.

Special recognition went to Carroll Middle School students. Ivy Patterson was named Best Actress and Garrett deGraffenreid was named Best Actor. Other awards went to Andrew Adams, All Star Cast; Laura Nichols,  Honorable Mention All Star Cast and Madeleine Louviere, Best Technician.

Members of the Dawson Middle School Cast

Dawson Middle School also received special recognition including the award for Best Crew. Students were also awarded for their individual talents: Anna Crafton was named Best Actress, Faith Osterberg and Jessica Owston were named to the All Star Cast, Richard Rodenberg and William Westfall were named to the Honorable Mention All Star Cast and Nic Godfrey was named Best Technician.

Upcoming DMS Theatre Performance

Students involved in the Dawson Theatre Arts program at Dawson Middle School have scheduled three performances this month of this year’s UIL One-Act-Play.

Live performances of “The Miracle Worker” by William Gibson are scheduled for February 12, 19 and 21.

Performances on Tuesday, Feb. 12 and Thursday, Feb. 21 will be at 7 p.m. on the Dawson Cafe Stage located at Dawson Middle School, 400 S. Kimball Avenue in Southlake. The performance scheduled for Tuesday, Feb. 19 will be at the Byron Nelson Fine Arts Center, located at 2775 Bobcat Boulevard in Trophy Club.

Admission is free to all performances. For additional information call the DMS Theatre Arts Department at 817-949-5556.