Tuesday, August 9, 2022

Councilmembers Shafi and Fawks to Take Oaths of Office at May 16 City Council Meeting

Councilmembers Shahid Shafi and Gary Fawks will take their seats for a second term next Tuesday; both ran unopposed in the recent election.

The oaths of office will be at 5:30 PM on Tuesday, May 16 in the Council Chambers prior to the Council Meeting at Southlake Town Hall. A break for a reception in the lobby will follow.  Both council members get the opportunity to continue their service to Southlake as elected officials.

Councilmember Shafi currently serves as the Place 1 council member and was first elected to this position in 2014. Prior to this, he served on the Planning and Zoning Commission and has volunteered in many roles for the City. He and his family have lived in Southlake since 2004.

Councilmember Fawks is currently the Place 6 council member and was elected to this position in 2014. He previously served as a council member from 1996-2001, and he served as Mayor Pro Tem from 1998-2001. He and his wife have lived in Southlake since 1993.

Southlake Volunteers Honored While Making their Marq

Volunteer Southlake hosted its annual Volunteer Appreciation event this past Monday, April 25th at the Marq. The evening highlighted our city volunteers and the “Marq they make in our community.”

The event was a huge success with over 120 people in attendance celebrating their peers and joint dedication to serving this community. Awards presented at the event included the Presidential Service Award pins, the new Mayor & Council Medal, as well as the Lifetime Milestone Awards. To learn more about each award please visit VolunteerSouthlake.com. The following includes a list of award recipients from the event:

Presidential Service Award


Wayne Berryman, Michael Binder, Joe Brayton, Patricia Brayton, Campbell Brown, Jacob Brush, Joaquin Cieri, Gary Davidson, Marie Doran, Emily Evans, Adam Floyd, Sarah Friske, Milan Georgia, Gary Harriger, Joan Houle, Remi Houle, Shaheer Khan, Abi Kumar, Marge Kyle, Sarah Logan, Sophia Logan, Myra Mak, Brynn Martin, Pranav Manjunath, Leroy McCall, Sameer Merchant, Karen Mertz, Pamela Muller, Alayna Payne, Rohan Patil, Ivette Gabriela Ramos Levy, Angela Riera, Harin Sabhaya, Nooreen Sandhu, Ashton Selsor, James Shirey, Megan Smith, Ken Stewart, Kenneth Stone, Riley Teague, Ailene Tubbesing, Marissa Vazhappilly, Evelyn Wang, and Maddie Whitsett.


AARP Tax Aide, and Church of Jesus Christ Latter Day Saints-Hurst Stake.

Mayor & City Council Medal

Sarah Logan –Junior

Patricia Brayton-Adult

Lifetime Milestone Service Awards

500 Hours:

Wayne Berryman, Joe Brayton, Patricia Brayton, Gary Davidson, Gary Harriger, Leroy McCall, Karen Mertz, Tom Moore, Pamela Muller, James Shirey, Megan Smith, Janie Stewart, Kenneth Stone,  and Ailene Tubbesing.

1,000 Hours:

Wayne Berryman, Patricia Brayton, Gary Davidson, Leroy McCall, Pamela Muller, Kenneth Stone, and Ailene Tubbesing.

Finally, in honor of the more than 2,000 volunteers who give back to the City of Southlake, Mayor Hill proclaimed with a Proclamation the week of April 24 – 30, 2016 as Volunteer Southlake Week. Thank you again to all of our Volunteer Southlake volunteers, you truly are “re- Marqable.”

If you would like more information about Volunteer Southlake, feel free to visit our website: VolunteerSouthlake.com.




Councilmembers Recognized for Their Service to Southlake

Pamela Muller and Mayor John Terrell

Pamela Muller and Mayor John Terrell

The Southlake City Council held a service celebration reception for former Mayor Deputy Pro Tem Pamela Muller and former Councilmember Martin Schelling.

Ms. Muller was honored for her service as an elected official and as a volunteer on various boards, commissions, and committees. Ms. Muller served on the council from 1988 to 1990, 1995 to 1998, and 2008 to 2014. During her tenure on Council, Ms. Muller served on the Southlake 2030 Committee (2009-2014), Southlake Parks Development Corporation (2008-2014) serving as vice president, Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 1 (2008-2014), Texas High Speed Rail and Transportation Committee (2008-2014) serving as an alternate member, and Metroport Cities Partnership (2008-2014). Ms. Muller is an active member on the Citizens on Patrol, Citizens Emergency Response Team, Southlake Fire Rehab, and Department of Public Safety Citizen Association.

Mr. Schelling was recognized for his 21 consecutive years of service to Southlake by Mayor Terrell, including: his election to Place 1 in 2011, during his time on City Council he served on the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 1 (2011-2014) and the Southlake 2030 committee (2011-2014). Before his time on council Mr. Schelling served on the SPIN Standing Committee (1994-2001), Crime Control and Prevention District board member and president (1997-2011), and the 2025 steering committee (2002-2004).

The video of the presentation honoring Ms. Muller and Mr. Schelling can be viewed below.