Saturday, August 20, 2022

United States Tennis Association serves up major award to Southlake Tennis Center

At the Texas Section United States Tennis Association’s (USTA) Annual Meeting and Conference this coming February, the Southlake Tennis Center will be recognized as the Texas section’s Organization of the Year!

This award, which is the most prestigious award that can be won by a USTA member organization, is based on an organization’s contributions to the community, to non-profit work, and to the growth of tennis through programs, leagues and tournaments.

The Southlake Tennis Center, which is a public tennis facility owned by the City of Southlake and operated by Roxy Tennis, has been a member organization of the USTA since 2002. With this award, STC becomes the Texas Section nominee for National Organization of the Year.

This is not the first time the center has been nationally recognized; the Southlake Tennis Center was named the Public Facility of the Year by the Tennis Industry Association in 2012 and remains the only facility in Texas to receive this honor. STC was named a National Outstanding Facility of the Year in 2011 and Texas Section Quick Start Facility of the Year in 2010.

For more information about the award-winning Southlake Tennis Center, go to or call 817-421-5605.

Councilmembers Recognized for Their Service to Southlake

Pamela Muller and Mayor John Terrell

Pamela Muller and Mayor John Terrell

The Southlake City Council held a service celebration reception for former Mayor Deputy Pro Tem Pamela Muller and former Councilmember Martin Schelling.

Ms. Muller was honored for her service as an elected official and as a volunteer on various boards, commissions, and committees. Ms. Muller served on the council from 1988 to 1990, 1995 to 1998, and 2008 to 2014. During her tenure on Council, Ms. Muller served on the Southlake 2030 Committee (2009-2014), Southlake Parks Development Corporation (2008-2014) serving as vice president, Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 1 (2008-2014), Texas High Speed Rail and Transportation Committee (2008-2014) serving as an alternate member, and Metroport Cities Partnership (2008-2014). Ms. Muller is an active member on the Citizens on Patrol, Citizens Emergency Response Team, Southlake Fire Rehab, and Department of Public Safety Citizen Association.

Mr. Schelling was recognized for his 21 consecutive years of service to Southlake by Mayor Terrell, including: his election to Place 1 in 2011, during his time on City Council he served on the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 1 (2011-2014) and the Southlake 2030 committee (2011-2014). Before his time on council Mr. Schelling served on the SPIN Standing Committee (1994-2001), Crime Control and Prevention District board member and president (1997-2011), and the 2025 steering committee (2002-2004).

The video of the presentation honoring Ms. Muller and Mr. Schelling can be viewed below.

Carroll ISD to Board Members: "Thanks S'more"

During last night’s School Board Meeting at the new Carroll ISD Administration Center, the district showed appreciation for all seven trustees with a special “Thanks S’more” marshmallow roasting event on the patio. The short social lasted about 20 minutes before the board reconvened to proceed with the posted agenda. School board members are volunteers elected to serve and receive no compensation for their work as public servants. A photo slideshow of the event is posted below.