Friday, July 1, 2022

Carroll Jazz Bands Sweep UTA Jazz Festival

Carroll ISD jazz students had successful performances at the 39th Annual UT Arlington Jazz Festival recently. Students from Carroll’s 1st and 3rd jazz groups competed against other high schools from across the Dallas- Fort Worth area. The competition was held Friday, March 1 inside the Hereford University Center located on the UT Arlington campus.

In addition to competing for ratings, scores, and judges’ comments, each band will receive a separate 25 minute clinic with a feedback clinician. The evening awards concert will feature the UT Arlington Jazz Orchestra with our guest artists, Gale and Mario Cruz.  

According to CISD Jazz Band Director David Lown, the Carroll Jazz Band 3 won the 2nd Jazz Band division. Lown said there was no 3rd band division at the contest, so Carroll entered its 3rd band to compete with other schools’ 2nd bands. Members of Carroll Jazz Band 3 are: Micaela Lumpkins, Ethan Widell, Casey Lapham, Jake Nimergood, Nick Kraft, Zach Susskind, Hunter Graviett, Jaden Curreri, Jared Smith, Jackson Bicart, Faraz Ansari, Stacy Heitman, Brooks Ragsdale, Noah Harston, Andrew Hyatt, Nikhil Malhotra, Riley Caldwell, Tristan Blue, Jackson Wright and Jacob Cicherski.

Judges declared the Carroll Jazz Orchestra the winner in the 5A-1st Band division. The Jazz Orchestra also received the Festival Sweepstakes Award, out performing all 21 competing bands. As the Festival Sweepstakes Award winner, the Carroll Jazz Orchestra will perform next year as the exhibition group at the UTA Jazz Festival’s evening concert. Members of the Carroll Jazz Orchestra are: Tanner Deters, Tien Tran, Colton Ginn, Daniel Canterino, Ryan Adler, Jared Neeley, Nick Booth, Christopher Cunningham, Cameron Brewer, Adam Horne, Reid Appleby, Kelsey Bronson, Chris Weisberg, Ammar Ansari, Ray Teer, Kenny Martin, Luke Miller and Stephen Ma.