The City of Southlake invites you to attend a swearing-in ceremony for returning City Councilmember Ronnell Smith, returning City Councilwoman Amy Torres-Lepp, and incoming Councilmember Shawn McCaskill.

The ceremony will take place during the city council meeting on Tuesday, May 17, 2022, at 5:30 p.m. A reception following the meeting will be hosted in the lobby of Town Hall.

The City will also recognize and celebrate outgoing Councilmember Chad Patton.

Shawn McCaskill – Place 3

Councilmember Shawn McCaskill previously served in Place 2 in 2015 and served as Deputy Mayor Pro Temp from 2016-2019. He will return as Place 3 when he takes the Oath of Office at the May 17 City Council meeting.





Ronell Smith – Place 4

Councilman Ronell Smith returns for a second term. He initially took oath in 2019 and previously served on the Zoning Board of Adjustment.





Amy Torres – Lepp Place 5

Councilwoman Amy Torres was recently elected to serve in Place 5 in 2021. Prior to her service as a City Councilmember, she served on the Planning and Zoning Commission. She is a Leadership Southlake Graduate, Class Graduate, and an active member of the Southlake Chamber of Commerce.





Chad Patton – Mayor Pro Tem

Chad Patton was elected to serve on the City Council Place 3 in 2016 and has served as Mayor Pro Tem since 2021. Before his service as an elected official, Councilmember Patton has served on the 2035 Corridor Planning Committee, Zoning Board of Adjustment, and Parks and Recreation Board.



To learn more about the City Council, please visit the City's website.

Mayor-elect John Huffman and councilmember-elects Randy Robbins and Amy Torres-Lepp are scheduled to take the oath of office as City of Southlake elected officials at 5:30 p.m., May 11 at Southlake Town Hall. Can’t be at the meeting? Watch the livestream or recorded video. 


Mayor John Huffman


John Huffman – Mayor 

In 2015, John Huffman was elected as the City of Southlake councilmember representing Place 5. Since 2019, he has served as the Deputy Mayor Pro Tem. He was on the Southlake 2035 Corridor Committee, Southlake Parks Development Corporation and Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone while on the Council. Prior to that, he served on the Zoning Board of Adjustment. Huffman will now serve as mayor of the City of Southlake. 






Dr. Randy Robbins


Dr. Randy Robbins – Place 2 

Dr. Randy Robbins will serve as the councilmember for Place 2. He has lived in Southlake for more than 17 years. He previously served on the City of Southlake Community Engagement Committee from 2014 - 2017 and the GRACE board of directors. 







Amy Torres-Lepp


Amy Torres-Lepp – Place 5 

Amy Torres-Lepp will serve as the councilmember for Place 5. She previously served on the City of Southlake Planning and Zoning Commission from 2019 – 2021. Torres-Lepp is a graduate of Leadership Southlake, Citizens Academy and CLASS. She is also an active member of the Southlake Chamber of Commerce and has volunteered for GRACE Feed the Kids and Carroll ISD. 







Outgoing Mayor Laura Hill and Councilmember Shawn McCaskill will attend their last meeting for their respective offices. Both had reached their term limits. 


Laura Hill


Laura Hill - Mayor 

Southlake Mayor Laura Hill, Southlake’s first female mayor, was elected in 2015 and re-elected in 2018. She served on the Southlake City Council beginning in 2004. As mayor, she founded the Mayor’s Alliance for Unity and Culture in 2018 and Southlake Kids Interested in Leadership in 2015.  

Her priorities have been youth, community, safety and security, partnerships and high-value public services. She regularly invited children to visit Town Hall as part of the Mayor for a Day program. In 2017, she helped launch Celebrate Southlake, an annual gathering to celebrate culture. She has been a strong supporter of the Southlake Police and Fire Departments and formed a safety task force following multiple school shootings, as well as using a school resource officer at every Carroll ISD school. She is an active member of the Metroport Cities Partnership and worked to have Southlake collaborate with professional colleagues. She has worked to provide excellent City services at reasonable costs to the community, helping to approve 10 tax relief measures since 2009, while also pursuing ideas to improve the quality of life for residents. 



Shawn McCaskillShawn McCaskill – Place 2 

Shawn McCaskill was elected to the Southlake City Council for Place 2 in 2015. He served as Deputy Mayor Pro Tem from 2016 – 2019 and Mayor Pro Tem since 2019. While on the Council, he served on the Southlake Parks Development Corporation, Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone, Youth Sports Association Task Force, Bob Jones Nature Center Board of Directors, Corridor Planning Committee and the COVID-19 Economic Recovery Task Force. Prior to being elected as a councilmember, he served on the Planning and Zoning Commission, Southlake 2030 Committee and the Zoning Board of Adjustment. 

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram