Saturday, September 30, 2023

CMS Band Wins National Honors

CMS_Band2014The Carroll Middle School Wind Ensemble has been named a Commended Winner in the 2014 Mark of Excellence National Wind Band Honors Project. This places the Carroll Middle School Band as one of the top middle school band programs in the country.

The CMS Wind Ensemble won this honor by submitting a live recording this past May of their challenging program of music that included “Prestissimo March” by Karl L. King and “Butterfly’s Ball” by Ryan Fraley.  The Mark of Excellence program received 224 entries from thirty-five states this year.

All entrants receive a compilation CD recording of the winning band performances. Winners are also recognized in regional and national publications and conventions.

The adjudicators were Richard Floyd, Director Emeritus of UIL Music, Professor Anthony Maiello of George Mason University, and Professor Stephen Davis of the University of Missouri at Kansas City.

The members of the CMS Wind Ensemble are to be commended for representing their school and community at the national level in the highest regard, and for their hard work, dedication and unprecedented success throughout the year.

The CMS Wind Ensemble is directed by Michael Oglesby, Nathan Brazell, and Sara Scott.

Dragons Win at TCU Jazz Festival

Carroll’s top two jazz ensembles traveled to the TCU Jazz Festival Saturday, March 29 to compete in a field of 30 jazz bands from around the State. Both the Jazz Orchestra and Jazz Ensemble took first place in the 5A-Varsity Divisions. Click here for more information about the festival. The band rosters are listed below.Carroll Jazz TCU 2014

Jazz Orchestra

  • Tanner Deters
  • Tien Tran
  • Colton Ginn
  • Daniel Canterino
  • Ryan Adler
  • Christopher Cunningham
  • Pearce Brown
  • Nathan Fritz
  • Andrew Jensen
  • Adam Horne
  • Mylon Johnson
  • Chris Weisberg
  • Colter Johnson
  • Jon Casel
  • Ray Teer
  • Kenny Martin
  • Parker Smith
  • Stephen Ma
  • Ryan Fields

Jazz Ensemble

  • Brandon Vu
  • Adam Sasek
  • Cameron Barth
  • Daniel Tubbesing
  • Allie Newman
  • Zach Susskind
  • Jaden Curreri
  • Austin Woolsey
  • David Kent
  • Jackson Bicart
  • Hunter Black
  • Stacy Heitman
  • Kaley Van Valkenburg
  • Ryker Torti
  • Ariel Szekely
  • Jackson Wright

Carroll Jazz Earns Outstanding Results

Members of the Carroll Jazz Band competed at the Region 24 Jazz Audition on Saturday, Sept. 21 in Frisco. Carroll ISD Director of Jazz Bands, David Lown said the competition was very tough and Carroll students came back with outstanding results.

The following students were selected to the Jazz Ensemble 1 and will audition for All-State Jazz Ensemble: Chris Weisberg, Adam Horne, Christopher Cunningham, Kenny Martin and Stephen Ma.

Tanner Deters, Colton Ginn, Ryan Adler, Pearce Brown, Ray Teer and Ryan Fields were selected to Jazz Ensemble 2. Jackson Wright  was selected as 1st alternate – drums, Nathan Fritz was selected as 1st alternate – trombone, Tien Tran received 1st alternate – alto sax and Daniel Canterino is 1st alternate – tenor sax.

For more information about the TMEA Region 24 Jazz Ensembles, visit the website by clicking here.