Saturday, June 25, 2022

Filing for General Election Closes

vote_ballot_boxThe filing period is over for Southlake’s May 9th general election.  A total of four candidates have filed for two offices.

Carolyn Morris and Laura Hill have both filed as Mayoral candidates.  Morris is currently is the Place 2 Council member.  She has reached the two term limit per the City’s charter.  Hill is currently the Mayor Pro Tem.

For Place 2, Sean McCaskill and Pamela A. Muller have filed their candidacy.  McCaskill recently stepped down from the City’s Planning and Zoning Commission.  Muller is a former City Council member.

Two special elections will also be held on May 9th.  One will concern a special sales tax election that would ask voters to consider a reduction of the Crime Control and Prevention District (CCPD) rate from 1/2 cent to 1/8 cent.  It would then create a new Type A Economic Development Corporation to fund the construction and operations of The Marq Southlake and to allow for the promotion of economic development.

The second special election will fill a vacancy due to the resignation of Laura Hill, Place 5.  The term expires May 2016.  The filing period for this special election began February 18, 2015 and will conclude at 5:00 p.m. on March 9, 2015.

For more information on filing for Place 5 please visit the City’s election information webpage.

Important Voting Deadlines

  • April 9, 2015, Last day to register to vote in the May 9, 2015 General Election
  • April 27, 2015, First day of early voting
  • May 5, 2015, Last day of early voting
  • May 9, 2015, Saturday Election Day

Additional election information can be found on the City’s website If you have questions about the election process please call the City Secretary’s office at (817) 748-8016.