Sunday, April 21, 2024

Change coming to Three Elementary School Zones

Starting January 3, 2017, the 20 mph speed limit will be extended in the Carroll Elementary, Rockenbaugh Elementary and Old Union Elementary school zones to accommodate for Pre-Kindergarten (Pre-K) dismissal times. The change comes as a result of a parent request made in late August.

“Pre-K children are released from school 55 minutes earlier than the K-4 grades at all three schools, said Public Works Director Rob Cohen. “ The decision was made after City of Southlake staff looked into two factors. First, staff observation of how many children and adults were walking during Pre-K dismissal and second, what the changes mean for drivers and the safety in the area,” he added.

Drivers can expect to see temporary signs announcing the change and permanent changes to the school zone signs surrounding each school. The new school zone dismissal times will be from 1:50 pm to 3:25 pm.

“We often hear from parents who are concerned about speed in these areas,” said Southlake Police James Brandon. “A simple sign change, extended the school zone times, and increased driver awareness will help make these school zones even safer.”

For more information about speed limits in the City of Southlake please visit